Maker Pro
Maker Pro

PCB from speakers broken please help

chidinma onyejuruwa

Aug 29, 2016
Hi there, so I have had my trusty edifier spinnaker speakers which stopped working a few days ago, it powers up however there is no volume and I assume the issue is connected to the fact there is a strange substance covering a number of components. I assume this is a cap blowing but im no expert can anybody help me identify the issue. Pic's are below
GXwT7uu
DefCYuK
9lGqIMm
Udr4f3g

Would just replacing the caps fix the issue in your eyes or is it likely there's more lasting damage?

Thanks in advance

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Please upload the images here so we can see them.

chidinma onyejuruwa

Aug 29, 2016
here you go

Attachments

• DSC_0038.JPG
    DSC_0038.JPG
    177.1 KB · Views: 151
  • DSC_0037.JPG
    DSC_0037.JPG
    154 KB · Views: 122
  • DSC_0035.JPG
    DSC_0035.JPG
    247 KB · Views: 135
  • DSC_0036.JPG
    DSC_0036.JPG
    226 KB · Views: 128

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Looking at everything but the third image, I would have said that the capacitors have had their electrolyte leak out and need replacement.

However the third image shows similar goop, but in an arrangement which looks more like the placement of glue than the flow of leakage.

Is the substance in the third image different? Is it rubbery rather than crunchy,

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Looking at everything but the third image, I would have said that the capacitors have had their electrolyte leak out and need replacement.

However the third image shows similar goop, but in an arrangement which looks more like the placement of glue than the flow of leakage.

yeah, definitely glue to hold them in place

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015

Sir chidinma onyejuruwa . . . . . . .

(Whew . . . .try as I can . . . . .I just can't say your name . . . . three times VERY-VERY fast !)

Hoping that this is being your units model family.