Connect with us

Pcb etching problem

Discussion in 'PCB Layout, Design and Manufacture' started by Navivanuva, Mar 3, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Navivanuva

Navivanuva

Mar 3, 2013
    Hi, i am new to pcb etching... I used the FeCl solution.. Ithe problem is after etching I try to test it with volt meter, there are currents everywhere on the board even on the part that wasnt marked with my permanent marker... Anybody can help me?:)

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Etch some more. There is probably still a very thin layer of copper on the board.

3. Eche

Eche

Mar 3, 2013
    I agree..depending on the type of material, try to light up the back of the board and check the light coming thru to check to see if u have completely etched it.

4. Eche

Eche

Mar 3, 2013
    I have a YouTube video of a new method of etching using a lemon.

5. ElectronicsPani

ElectronicsPani

Mar 3, 2013
    First thing is :
    I would say Using a marker for etching with FeCl is not much practicable because what I have seen is the permanent marker is also dissolved by the water and FeCl solution after sometimes when it is dipped in FeCl solution. So use more better ways like Laser Printing and Ironing or PhotoResistive methods.

And as for your problem , I think the Copper in the plate is not etched completely so you are facing the problem. It normally takes 20-30 minutes when you dip the PCB in FeCl solution with gentle swipping of the solution.

6. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    It shouldn't take 20 to 30 minutes unless your FeCl3 is cold. But you do need to know what the board looks ike when it is fully etched.

Any cloudiness or smudgy looking marks are residual copper.

7. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012