Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Passive infrared sensor relay control.

thorpenny

Jul 21, 2011
Hello I am relatively new to electronics so please dumb down your responses, if any.

I am trying to build a circuit where a relay is operated by a 3v output PIR sensor which operates on 12v. The batteries I am using to power the PIR sensor are 10 1.2v Ni-MH 3000mA batteries. What I need to know is how to rig it so when the PIR detects something (voltage on output is high), the relay is activated and the circuit that goes to the 12v motor is completed. Further, I was wondering if I can use the same power source for the PIR as the motor? :confused:

TBennettcc

Dec 4, 2010
You should be able to use the same power source. What kind of current does the motor draw?

Are you saying that the PIR sensor is high (3V) when it detects, and low (0V) when it does not detect?

If so, then this should work.

Attachments

• PIR-Relay.gif
    PIR-Relay.gif
    10.8 KB · Views: 5,926

thorpenny

Jul 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your help! Yes, the pir output is 3v when it is high and 0v when it is low and the motor draws about 2.5 amps/hour without any load. Also, I was wondering if I would need a diode to protect the pir from any voltages produced from the relay?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If so, then this should work.

There's a few problems with this circuit. Primarily the 100k resistor in series with the relay coil is likely to stop the relay from operating.

Secondly, it is more typical to place the load in the collector rather than the emitter of the transistor.

There should be a diode connected in reverse (anode to negative) across the relay coil to absorb the transient generated when the relay is released (otherwise your transistor will be quickly damaged).