Connect with us

Parallel Pin Connections

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Bradley Hamspon, Oct 18, 2014.

1. Bradley Hamspon

Bradley Hamspon

Oct 18, 2014
    Hi All,

First of all I hope that I'm posting this in the correct place, secondly, I'm just getting into electronics from a hobbyist perspective. Whilst I'm not 100% new to electronics there are some things take a few takes to understand.

A problem has led me to sign up and join in on this forum....

I am attempting to get connected to a parallel port and the pinouts are shown below:

[​IMG]

I have a 24 Volt supply and I have connected up pins 1 and 2, the device I am connecting to powers up just fine.
    The diagram I am reading states that at various times voltage shall pass through the pins 3-4 & 7 -10 for a short period, it states that they are connected via NPN transistors.
    I'm unable to get any thing from the pins, to be honest I'm not 100% sure how to wire the circuit.
    Help would be very much appreciated,

2. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Hi Bradley and welcome to Electronics Point :)

If pins 3, 4, and 7~10 are driven by NPN transistors and are described as active low, most likely they are "open collector" outputs. Inside the device, each output has an NPN transistor with its emitter connected to the 0V rail (pin 1 of the port connector) and its collector connected to the output pin on the port.

When the device wants to activate an output, it applies current to the base of the transistor, which makes the transistor conduct from its collector to its emitter, like a switch turning ON. The transistor pulls the output pin to 0V. This is the "active low" state.