Maker Pro
Maker Pro

oscilloscope question

markm6164

Jan 22, 2012
Can i safely scope mains voltage? Can it be done with the correct probes and if so what rating probes does it require?

GonzoEngineer

Dec 2, 2011
If you have to ask that question, I highly suggest you not try it unless you know exactly what you are doing.

What are the spec's of the scope?
What country are you in, and what configuration is the mains voltage?
Is it two wire, or three wire?
Where are you going to ground the scope probe lead?

Not knowing the answers to all these questions could result in severe damage to the scope, as well as to yourself!

markm6164

Jan 22, 2012
I am new to electronics. I'd like to scope the primary side of a psu circuit to see the effect of mains filters. I would never connect anything to mains without being 100% sure it's safe. I live in the uk with 240v 50/60hz mains. We have 3 wire live, neutral and earth wires. I have a Phillips analogue 100mhz scope.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi again Mark

I have owned a scope for many yrs and to be honest i have never though about sticking it across the mains to do any measuring

I do notice on my Tektronix scope tho that direct in it can only handle 200V AC or DC max, But using the x10 switch on the probe would extend that.
I just dont know if a normal probe could handle that sort of voltage, I do know there are hi voltage probes available for scopes and if I was you I would be looking into going that way

Presumably you are referring to the mains filter in that PSU you and I were talking about in the other thread. ?
IF and ONLY IF you find a safe way to scope the mains.... what you are looking for is hi freq ~ 20 - 100 KHz noise on the mains circuitry.