Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Optocoupler with PLC

BHEKI

Aug 28, 2014
Im working on a school project but im also new to electronics, on my project im using PLC S7-200(SIEMENS) to drive the DC motor which controls the opening and closing of boom gate. The PLC is outputting a 24VDC and my motor driver IC(L293D) takes 5V as "high" on its input. Nw I want to use an opto-coupler as to get a +5V DC frm my PLC to my motor driver but im not sure hw I will do tht. Can some1 help me with da schematic on hw I should do my connection . PLZZZ

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A simple voltage divider 475Ω + 1.82kΩ will divide 24V to ~5V.

If you want to go for an optocoupler (e.g. for electrical isolation), read this tutorial.

BHEKI

Aug 28, 2014
A simple voltage divider 475Ω + 1.82kΩ will divide 24V to ~5V.

If you want to go for an optocoupler (e.g. for electrical isolation), read this tutorial.

Thanks for the information. So one more question, the one I will be using is a photo-transistor type, but im not sure if they all can take 24V on the input side.

Also on the tutorial u just gave me, I've seen a circuit diagram of an Optotransistor DC Switch, on the output side of an optotransistor I was thinking of connecting a relay which wil switch on 5V DC to the input of my motor driver circuit(L293D), will the relay be necessary or I must just put 5VDC to that Vcc terminal and connect the output straight to my motor diver

Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
but im not sure if they all can take 24V on the input side.
None can. The input of a photocoupler is an LED and you need to limit the current through the LEd to the vale specified in the photocoupler's datasheet. See our ressources section "got a question about driving LEDs?"