Connect with us

Operation 'Sunshine'

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by bad.seed, Feb 16, 2011.

1. bad.seed

bad.seed

Feb 16, 2011
    Hi guys.

I'm planning on building a new aquarium for myself and was thinking I'd make some cool lighting. The general lighting will consist of standard T5 tubes but I want to incorporate simulated sun rays for a cool effect. So I'm thinking that if I can get 10 or so yellow laser pointers hooked up to the wall (230V) as opposed to constantly changing batteries that would be great.

I have very little experience with electronics unfortunately, but have a couple of friends who know about these things. I am eager to learn though.

How would I go about connecting the pointers in such a way? Are there lasers (or fitting lenses) where you can adjust the width of the beam- to widen them a little to make some beams wider and some narrower? Also, I'd appreciate your recommendeations to keep the price down (Saw some pointers that were $700 :S ).

Thanks again for your help, thoughts and recommendations.

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Where can you get yellow laser pointers from? ;)

3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    Being an aquarium owner myself , I shudder at the thought that you would even consider shining lasers into the tank. Unless you want a tankful of blinded fish banging into each other !! :(

Dave

4. Seismic

Seismic

Feb 13, 2011
    This was my first thought! Sounds a bit "Dr Evil" to me

... "All I want is sharks with frikkin' laser beams attached to their heads!"

5. bad.seed

bad.seed

Feb 16, 2011
    Who said there would be fish? I'm building it to aquascape, not to keep animals. It's an artistic thing.

Even if there would be fish the plan was to widen the beams to make them more diffuse, which reduces risk of eye injuries. Would you recommend something other than lasers for this project? The point is really to get that sun ray look.

6. Resqueline

Resqueline