Maker Pro
Maker Pro

OP amp guidance for newbie

brian connolly

Jan 31, 2018
hi all.

im a newbie so excuse any ignorant questions in advance.
Im 39 and doing a part time college degree and decided to do something with arduino uno for a project. I have little practical experience with electronics but have read a lot over the years. unfortunately my memory isn't the best so even when I understand something, I have forgotten it a couple of days later.

im looking for some guidance on what sort of op amp I should use to amplify the voltage output of a sphygmomanometer pressure sensor (MPS200N0040D-D). its a small traffic light system im doing with red lights being activated by the pressure sensors. from my research I have concluded that the sensor outputs a 0-25mv signal.im looking for about 5v for the input to the arduino. im not concerned with the value of the signal, I just want it to turn on a red light if any pressure is recorded. any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks all

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome to EP.

For converting an analog signal 0 ... 25 mV into a digital signal (0 V / 5 V or 0 V / 3.3 V depending on the type of arduino) you need a comparator, not an amplifier. Any comparator with single supply operation and rail-to-rail inputs and outputs will work. See for example the LMV7291. Set the reference voltage such that at a presuure greater than you defined limit the output of the comparator becomes active. Add some hysteresis as described on pages 11 ff. of the datasheet to reduce sensitivity to noise.

Alternatively you can feed the 0 ... 25 mV signal directly into an ADC input of the Arduino and use the digitized signal in software to make the on/off decision. This makes use of an external opamp or comparator unnecessary.

brian connolly

Jan 31, 2018
Welcome to EP.