Connect with us

One Way Communication from Chip-to-Chip

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Pradip Nepali, Jun 18, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    How to transmit data from one IC to other, i.e I want to controller relay from
    One Way Communication from Chip-to-Chip
     
  2. Minder

    Minder

    3,078
    657
    Apr 24, 2015
    What data?
    Control relay from one ic to another is 0/1 logic, no other 'data'.??
    M.
     
  3. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    yes relay i want to control , in singal ic i can but from one ic to other i can't so plz how to start
     
  4. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,490
    2,832
    Jan 21, 2010
    Set your output high when you want the relay energized and low when you don't. The other chip can monitor the logic level and control the relay.
     
  5. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    that thing i know but how to transmit data from one to other ic.
     
  6. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,490
    2,832
    Jan 21, 2010
    You'll need to be far more specific. A simple logic level can transfer the information required for the example you gave.

    What is the scenario? The answer could be as simple as I suggested or maybe to need something way more complex (for example if the two ICs are on different sides of the planet).
     
  7. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    I have to ic at89c51, in first ic I put 2 button switch and in second IC i put 2 reply so I want to control that Relay from first IC
     
  8. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,444
    2,629
    Nov 17, 2011
    The simplest way is to connect a port pin as output of the 1st IC to a port pin as input of the 2nd IC.
    Toggle the state of the output by the 1st IC and read the state of the input of the 2nd IC. Perform the actions as required by the state of the signal.
    That's essentially what Steve said in post #4 in a tiny bit more detail.

    If you want to communicate more than this single on/off message, look into serial protocols like SPI, UART etc. (use your favourite search engine).
     
  9. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    can you show me sample programming
     
  10. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,444
    2,629
    Nov 17, 2011
    Sorry, I don't have sample code at hand.
    One will also need to know:
    • Which chip?
    • Which language/compiler/assembler?
    • How does the hardware look like (schematic)?
    Every microcontroller manufacturer offers sample code for serial communication usiong their controllers.
     
  11. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    At89c51 I'm using
     
  12. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,688
    Jan 5, 2010
    I am getting the idea that these two chips are separated and not connected and you are looking for something like a wireless connection. Is that true?

    Bob
     
  13. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    That is also good but now I only want to transmit thru one wire
     
  14. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,688
    Jan 5, 2010
    Okay, you have been given the answer twice then.

    Bob
     
  15. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    Anyway do you have any idea about this
     
  16. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,688
    Jan 5, 2010
    I agree with the other two. Connect an output port of the sender to an input port of the receiver.

    In the sender, put out a high when you want the relay on and a low when you want the relay off.

    In the receiver, check the input port periodically. If it is high, turn the relay on, if low turn it off.

    Bot
     
  17. Minder

    Minder

    3,078
    657
    Apr 24, 2015
    If driving a relay you will probably need conditioning of some kind, 2n7000 for e.g. etc.
    If you have two identical devices, output on one - input the other plus common.
    Insufficient info for detailed response.
    M.
     
  18. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    I don't understand about this reply..
     
  19. Pradip Nepali

    Pradip Nepali

    14
    0
    Jun 18, 2015
    dig.JPG
    This is my diagram now let me know how can I switch on/off this two LED from two switch.
     
  20. Minder

    Minder

    3,078
    657
    Apr 24, 2015
    I am not familiar with that processor.
    Are you proficient at programming?
    I imagine you will need something to drive the LED's with, 2n7000 etc.
    That would normally be a trivial function to implement.
    M.
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-