Maker Pro
Maker Pro

On/Off Voltmeter

AvrDude2012

Aug 1, 2012
Hi, I'm new to mosfets and up until a few weeks ago, I didn't know know that p-channel meant high side switching and n-channel meant low side switching.

What I'm trying to do is build a voltmeter for a micro controller to measure up to 500 volts. I'm using a voltage divider to bring the voltage down to 5v for the ADC. However I need the voltage divider disconnected until I read the voltage. To do this I'm using a p-channel mosfet with an n-channel mosfet for the saturation of the p-channel for high side switching of the voltage divider. I also used another n-channel to disconnect the ground object being measured. I want a complete disconnect when not measuring voltage. I also need the speed of mosfets, relays won't cut it. Here is the circuit I'm using:

voltmeter.png

The problem is when I measure around 100 volts or more, the p-channel locks always on (assuming I fried it) and I have to replace it. It does not lock on until I read the voltage (turn on the p-channel) when it is above 100v or so. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
avrdude

edit to add: The 180k resistor is actually a 10k resistor. Sorry

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I imagine that you're exceeding the absolute maximum values for Vgs for Q1 when Q3 turns on.

One option is an opto-coupled mosfet driver. Redesigning around Q1 would be the alternative.

Something like this would allow you to switch the mosfet on and off. Note that you really need a pair of mosfets in series so that the body diode does not provide a current path even when the mosfet is switched off.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Could you go into more detail about what you're doing? You say you're measuring a "voltage of up to 500V" and that you need both sides of that voltage disconnected from your measuring circuit, but that doesn't really give us any idea of what you want to do.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011