Connect with us

old garage door opener circuit board

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by James Okken, Jul 23, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. James Okken

James Okken

Jul 23, 2015
    hi, another newbie here asking for free advice...

i have an old garage door opener that isn't working. motor works but is not activated by the circuitry
    now im very novice but
    when i 'test' the circuit board's transformer with my multimeter I only get ~48v and ~4volts.

the transformer, see attached picture, says
    pri 117 vac, 60Hz
    sec 38 38 vac 5.4VA

i assume the transformer is bad, if im right I can't seem to find an exact match. would the one from this ebay ad possibly work, it seems "close"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TRIAD-Power...6-VAC-CT-06-12-amp-Prim-115v-PC-/161129093933

thanks!!

Attached Files:

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    Hi James
    welcome to the forums

OK how were you testing the transformer ... you haven't shown the pin connections for your one
    but going by the label, it has a single 38VAC secondary winding .... not sure where you were getting the second 38 from or the ~4V ???

your transformer as stated on the label is a single 38V secondary at 5.4 Watts

if you were measuring the secondary voltage with no load, then it would most likely have an open circuit voltage of between 45 and 50V ( that will drop to around the 38V under load

Dave

3. James Okken

James Okken

Jul 23, 2015
    oh sorry not -4volts I was meaning to say ~approximately 4 volts and ~approximately 48 volts, let me try to get more pics to show the pins. i was just getting readings putting the multimeter leads one on a pin one side of the transformer and one on the other.

if the ebay one is close but has another secondary, I could just only use one secondary?

there are 5 pins, 3 on one side and 2 on the other (the ebay one has 6 pins). thanks

4. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009