Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Not sure if this is the right area: Relay help questions

shameless

Sep 17, 2011
Hi, I'm seth, i'm a volunteer and paid EMT. I have two identical sirens that, seperate aren't that loud, but together are plenty sufficient. I'm putting them into a truck with limited dash space. I had them ran with dual throw on-off-on switches, but now I dont have room for that big of switches. I'm trying to find out if I can run them through a relay, from a single switch, and still have both sirens working at the same time. I cant just wire the sirens together in a "bridge" but I'm hoping this will work. any suggestions? if this will work does anyone recomend a certain relay for the job? if a dual throw relay wont work, can I bridge two singles together? running a power wire from the switch into relay #1, then from the negative of relay #1 to the positive of relay #2, and then from the neg. of relay #2 to back to the battery?

Attachments

• relay design.jpg
    relay design.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 224
  • relay design 2.gif
    relay design 2.gif
    50.3 KB · Views: 214

daddles

Jun 10, 2011
Hi, Seth. Here's a suggested circuit. I can't recommend a part because you didn't specify the current draw of the sirens. However, add the currents that the sirens draw (measure it to be sure) and go to your auto parts store and get a double pole, single or double throw relay. Get a relay with a current rating about 20% more than what the sirens draw to be a bit conservative. If you can't get a double pole relay, you can use two single pole relays. The little switch in the lower left is what turns the sirens on.

Attachments

• siren.jpg
    siren.jpg
    20.6 KB · Views: 233

shameless

Sep 17, 2011
well, I plan on using the trucks battery for the remote power for the relays, so would it matter what the sirens were pushing as long as the relays turned on when it took the 12-14 volts coming from the batery?

shameless

Sep 17, 2011