Maker Pro
Maker Pro

(Not so) Common Knowledge

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
So I made a realization today when talking to a fellow employee at the company I work for, he was asking about a proposed oscilloscope that we will be getting soon. Asking what it was going to be used for and such.
Now since I have a lot of experience I quickly thought of a good 25-30 tasks that we would use one for around here, and listed a couple. The look on his face made me realize that things that I know as "common knowledge" aren't as widely known as I thought. He is a chemical engineer (specifically lithium ion battery composition) so he has used an o-scope before for data logging on some occasions, but nothing more than that, and he in fact didnt even realize that you could do other things with them like that.

I know I am rambling but I was thinking, what other things do we (the people with some knowledge of electronics/test equipment) know that we find to be common knowledge/sense that most wouldn't have a clue about?

I know from experience that a lot of people know basically what voltage is, and have heard of current, but that's about it.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
The average person, knows nothing about electricity beyond that when they plug something into the wall outlet or put batteries in something, there should be a sign that it has power and might do something if a switch is pressed...

Everything else related to electricity is magic to them...

And for the above average person that believes they know a little, this quote applies...

"...a little knowledge is apt to puff up, and make men giddy, but a greater share of it will set them right, and bring them to low and humble thoughts of themselves."

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
The average person, knows nothing about electricity beyond that when they plug something into the wall outlet or put batteries in something, there should be a sign that it has power and might do something if a switch is pressed...