Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Nordictrack C2420 Console

Tommy Hill

Aug 3, 2017
My treadmill is around 10 years old. The console has become intermittent. At times (extremely rare) the console has worked like the day it was purchased but normally it has problems. About 3 weeks ago I decided to give it another try and it worked perfectly for 2 runs with all buttons working. After the 2nd run it reverted back to its old problems. The console only works the 3, 8, 12 mph speed buttons. No other buttons work on the console. Three mph is too slow and 8 mph is too fast for a 55 yr old. My desired use is warm-up at 3 & 4 walking and then running at 5/6 mph with an occasional foray into the 7 mph range.

Can an alternative method be used to change speeds other than using the console buttons? I do not need the console to track mileage or calories or anything else (those things would be nice but I mainly need the treadmill to run for periods of time). I am a high school soccer referee and just need to prepare for endurance. Thanks

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
An educated guess from the descriptions that you provide, along with a 10 year age of the unit seems to suggest a, slooooooooooooooow, time progressed change /decline of a section of the control unit or its power supply.
Can you now confirm for us that in the cool morning, when the unit is being stone dead cold , it operates alright but after there is time for the internal control panels components warming up, your problem shows up ?
If this proves to be true, see if it is possible to open the Control Panel enough to be able to see all of the internal electronics .
Then one would want to operate the system up to the point where the buttons adjustments do their failures and then use a handheld blow dryer set to its cold air blow only function and get in very close to cool components down, with that cooling air stream.