Connect with us

Noob with a question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by AcroporaGuy, Jul 22, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. AcroporaGuy

AcroporaGuy

Jul 22, 2010
    Hello everybody! I'm new to electronics. It was literally just a day or two ago that I picked up my first electronics book(Electronics for Dummies) and now I'm interested in actually seeing some of these parts I'm reading about and I'm interested in putting my first circuit together. But heres my problem- the electronics store is 50 miles away in a town that I have never had any reason to visit, nor do I think I'll ever have much reason to go to. I have a bunch of old broken electronic devices sitting in a closet but all their circuits and components are all soldered together. I'm wondering if its possible to remove the components from those circuits without damaging the components so that I can start tinkering with them. I just dont really think that such a long drive would be worth the price of the parts, particularly if thats the only reason to drive 50 miles one way. Thanks everybody!

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Hello & welcome! Yes, it's no problem desoldering most of the parts. That's how I first built up my parts assortment (aged 10), and it's great solder/repair training too.
    You won't need much besides an iron, a small screwdiver (for lifting while heating), a roll of solder (to keep the tip fresh), and a solder sucker (for removing >3-pin devices).
    In the process you'll learn how to carefully & efficiently remove parts, & how much abuse different parts & pcb's will take before failing. What iron will you be using btw.?
    You'll also learn to apply a little fresh tin to the tip for every 5 (or so) pin desoldered. Failing that will leave you with a "dry" tip that works poorly and is hard to "tin" again.

3. AcroporaGuy

AcroporaGuy

Jul 22, 2010