Connect with us

Noob question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by S1lence1, Dec 17, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. S1lence1

S1lence1

Dec 17, 2016
    I went to the local electronics store today in search of a 1KV 103pF capacitor and was informed that a 500v 103 would work fine in it's place in my LCD tv. I'm still very new at circuitry but this just doesn't sound right to me and im especially suspicious considering they were out of stock on the 1kv.

Any input from a person knowledgeable in this would be greatly appreciated.

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009

That wasn't good advice, always use the stated voltage or a higher voltage rating

chopnhack likes this.
  3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    where in the circuit is this capacitor ?
    why do you think it is faulty ?
    show us a photo of the area of the PCB where that cap is

4. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    I would be very surprised to find any voltage above 500V in an LCD TV.

Bob

5. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    have you not worked on LCD TV's ?

maybe not ..... most, if not all, have voltages of 1kV some have more
    Usually in the inverter output section

this is why I asked for the info that I did ;)

Dave

[ the newer LCD TV's that use LEDs for backlight illumination don't use that higher voltage ]

Last edited: Dec 17, 2016
  6. Audioguru

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
    I think a value of "103pF" is fishy. It is probably 10,000pF or 10nF (0.01μF).

Arouse1973 likes this.
  7. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    yeah, he didn't know how to read the value ;) ..... 103 (10nF) is a reasonably common value in the inverter stage ... it's also a value and voltage rating often used in power rail decoupling around the SMPS

8. S1lence1

S1lence1

Dec 17, 2016
    Best I can take with my android, the burned side of the capacitor makes me think that the loud "POP" that happened before the shutdown is a damaged capacitor.