Maker Pro
Maker Pro

noob needs help

mikgol

Jul 6, 2013
Hi Everyone,

I'm mick from australia. I'm a software guy who loves electronics - I especially love controlling motors etc. through software (I write software for a living)

I've got a little project going, and am pulling my hair out due to my total noobness on the electronics front. I'm hoping one of you kind electronics people will be able to give me a hand :)

I put together a K8055N (usb experiment board with open collector outputs) and I'm trying to make it control 2 dc motors and their directions.

The K8055N works great, and I have no problem switching the open collector outputs on/off through software. But I'm at a loss as to hook it up to my 2 DC motors so I can control their direction.

I have a h-bridge chip that I tried to hook up with no success (the outputs on the board are open collector, and I'm at a loss as to how to supply power and send a signal to the h-bridge chip).

I also have some diodes, and was hoping to find a circuit that will let me control 2 DC motors (forwards and backwards) with 4 open collector outputs and just the diodes. After hours of googling I'm about to give up, but thought i'd come here and see if anyone can help.

Is it even possible to control a dc motor without a h-bridge? I was hoping to just arrange the diodes in a certain way so I can use output 1 to make one motor go fwd, output 2 to make it go backwards, and the diodes somehow (magic?) let this happen.

If it's possible I'd like to make it work with as simple of a circuit as possible (just the power diodes?)

Please forgive me if this is a stupid question - I know alittlebit about electronics, but not that much (obviously). Any help and advice would be very much appreciated. Even if it's just "it's impossible to control a dc motor direction without a h-bridge".