Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Noob making a power supply

giser3546

May 13, 2015
Hello everyone, Noob here looking for guidance with my first project as well as the hobby in general. I have a long standing interest in electronics and as a result have a sizable collection of outdated computers and audio equipment that I'm thinking I could do something with. I have a working knowledge of electricity, work with software and computers for a living, and have done some basic electrical installation and rewiring work in the past.

For my first project I'm hoping to build a power supply for a laptop mother board I have. Its a Toshiba Satellite requiring 19v and 3.42 amps. I do have a desktop power supply I'm hoping I could re purpose for this. I have seen many walk throughs outlining a similar procedure but as of yet I'm at a loss on how I would get precisely the voltage I need. I have a multi-meter an old oscilloscope and willing to purchase any other basic tools or equipment I may need.

Thanks everyone.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hello everyone, Noob here looking for guidance with my first project as well as the hobby in general. I have a long standing interest in electronics and as a result have a sizable collection of outdated computers and audio equipment that I'm thinking I could do something with. I have a working knowledge of electricity, work with software and computers for a living, and have done some basic electrical installation and rewiring work in the past.

For my first project I'm hoping to build a power supply for a laptop mother board I have. Its a Toshiba Satellite requiring 19v and 3.42 amps. I do have a desktop power supply I'm hoping I could re purpose for this. I have seen many walk throughs outlining a similar procedure but as of yet I'm at a loss on how I would get precisely the voltage I need. I have a multi-meter an old oscilloscope and willing to purchase any other basic tools or equipment I may need.

Thanks everyone.