Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Noob building from schematic.

Adam Sackfield

Jun 13, 2015
Good Afternoon,

First I will apologise for my complete lack of knowledge of the task I am trying to complete, basically I am a new photographer and came across a technique for an IR sensor to trigger the shutter and thought I would attempt to build it from the schematic here

Due to lack of understanding of the task at hand it's proving to be a nightmare, I have been consulting my uncle who is an electrical engineer, but feel I am testing his patience now so I thought I would post online and see if I can be guided.

The issues I have had and solved by my uncle were the potentiometers not having the legs in the same place as the schematic, but solved this with jumpers from middle leg to its destination :) Then there was the SCRs being a different layout again solved by moving the resistors to different slot.

Where I am stumped now is the capacitors legs being too short, for one of them I had an empty row so used a jumper for this to link it where it was meant to go. However I have another capacitor that has no empty rows around it and i'm clueless on how to extend it's legs, do I need to go and buy a soldering iron or can I just wrap some wire around it, if so what wire.

I envisage I am going to encounter many more issues before the end of the project so any advice would be greatly received, attached are some photos of my progress for you to compare to the schematic.

PS I realise I need to make it tidy but I wanted to ensure I had things correct before cutting down the legs on things.unnamed (2).jpg unnamed (3).jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
The schematic shows two TO-92 devices.
Do you really need those apparent high current devices for a camera shutter?
You have plenty of open room on the BB to extend or reposition any component?
Also that circuit appears to be a Flash delay of some kind.
M.

Adam Sackfield

Jun 13, 2015