Maker Pro
Maker Pro

No sound from radio speaker, but can hear from headphone jack

deoxit hufr

Feb 24, 2017
Hello all,

new here so If I am doing something amiss... please advise

I just purchased a used radio that seems to have a blown internal speaker.. or some other component
that is rendering it inoperative.

Could someone suggest some trouble shooting steps when ( or before ) I pop this open?
I think I would be able to see if something has come loose, or something obvious like that,
but I'm expecting something a little more complicated to isolate...
and I'm new to attempting repairs so, many "obvious" things wrong.. would not be so obvious to me..

thanks in advance

deoxit hufr

Last edited:

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Headphone jacks usually have a switching mechanism which isolates the main amp when headphones are in use.

Perhaps this switching mechanism is not returning the signal to the main amp after the headphones are removed.

deoxit hufr

Feb 24, 2017
Yes I had seen some info about this during my search.. this is a 3.5 mm jack..
what would be the recommended treatment for it? replace the jack? clean and try to release
the mechanism? I don't want to use the headphone jack anymore necessarily.. It's not really a portable
radio.. and just want the sound from the speaker, I could remove the headphone jack and not
be missing anything.

thanks for reply

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
1......First you need to be proficient with the use of a multimeter and some circuit tracing skill.
Without this you will be lost.
2......Next it would be necessary to determine if this is indeed where the fault lies.

3.... If it proves to be the case then bridging it out would suffice.
However, again you need tknow what you are doing.

deoxit hufr

Feb 24, 2017
you will be lost.

1. of course I'm lost.. hence why I am here..
2. would the multimeter be the only tool I need to determine this? ( and un-losting myself ofc)