Connect with us

newbie question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by uncletomcobblyandall, Feb 11, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. uncletomcobblyandall

uncletomcobblyandall

Feb 11, 2014
    Hi all
    I am pretty much a novice with electronics, I have played around with basic electronic kits and know the basics of what a diode or a resistor does etc etc, but I am not an expert by any means. My dilemna is this: I have twin headlights on my motorcycle, one being high beam, one being low beam, and they are never on together, when i turn high beam on the low beam light goes off. What I want to do is wire it so that the low beam stays on when the high beam on. I want to do it without using a relay and having to run more wires back to the battery or fuse box under the seat. I know it can be done with a big enough diode so that when the high beam goes on power will go through the diode and power the low beam circuit as well, but when the high beam is switched off and the low beam circuit comes on again the diode should prevent the current from the low beam circuit flowing back through the high beam circuit. The headlights are both 55 watt and 12 volt so by my calculations (remembering I am a novice) I need to have a diode that is rated at at least 5.5amps. The highest rated 12volt diode i can find is 3amp. So my question is this, can I successfully use a higher voltage diode that is rated at 6amps? I know that diodes have a starting current that if the current is beneath that amount it won't cross the semiconductor and there will be no current flow. If I use say a 120volt 6amp diode, will this work? And will there be too much voltage drop through that big a diode? Or am I better off going the relay route to achieve the desired outcone? Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Uncletomcobblyandall

2. shumifan50

shumifan50

Jan 16, 2014