Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie question re 2N2222 NPN transistor

cadmus98

Aug 27, 2011
Hi,

I'm teaching myself electronics and am working through a book called "Make: Electronics". I'm a total beginner on this subject and am just starting to learn about transistors.

In a chapter on transistor switching it says, "...initially you just need to know that in this type of transistor [2N2222], the collector receives current, the base controls it, and the emitter sends it out."

On my breadboard, which is following the circuit diagram in the book, the 2N2222 is wired up so that the collector is connected to the more positive side of a series circuit, and the emitter the more negative side.

I was wondering why this was, because I was thinking that if the collector's role is to take in current and the emitter's role is to output it, then the collector should be wired to the more negative side and the emitter more positive. This because of direction of current flow, negative to positive. My LED is wired in like this, for example.

Can someone please tell me in very basic terms why this isn't so?

Tom

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
cadmus98, you'll find that the "arrows" shown on semiconductors show conventional current flow. That is, they show the direction of the current flowing from +ve to -ve.

This applies to LEDs too. If you check the datasheet or whatever to determine the anode and cathode end of your LED, you'll find the arrow part of the symbol points from +ve to -ve (or at least it does if the LED is to illuminate).

OK, we know that electrons move the other way, but when current was first considered we did not. It only became obvious when the first valve was manufactured. By then, the convention of current flowing from +ve to -ve was well established. In addition, it rarely makes any difference to your consideration except in some exotic situations where electrons can do things that holes cannot (thermionic valves are an example).