Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie needs help to power up a cable modem board

Osiris

May 29, 2016
I took out a working cable modem board from a broken tv cable box. Now without the power board and tv board, i wonder is there a way to power up only the cable modem board so i can use the internet? I am totally new in electronics, could someone please enlighten me? thanks.

gFw5gK7.jpg

VQnNmrD.jpg
hjlaVgH.jpg

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there

welcome to EP

first thing for you to do would be to google search for a service manual for the tv the board came out of
then you will be able to identify the connector pins to find out which ones are power and signal rails

without that info ... you plan wont come to fruition

Dave

Osiris

May 29, 2016
Thanks for your help. Unfortunately i can't seem to find service manual for this specific thomson dvr. There may be other similar models i need to seek. Is there a way to trial and error?

Last edited:

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Does your cable TV service offer an internet connection? Mine does, but it is an extra-cost "feature" that is available with or without TV channels. I purchased a high-end cable modem after purchasing the cable internet service, saving the monthly rental fee charged by my cable service provider. Now they have decided to "digitize" the TV channels and add a "decoder" between the cable and the TV. At first these were offered for "free" but now I find out they are going to charge a monthly rental. So, it looks like I will be canceling the TV part of the cable service and erecting an outside antenna for over-the-air digital TV. Still need my cable modem for internet, and the monthly fee charged by the cable service provider for an internet address the cable company (acting as an ISP) provides.

I suggest you either rent the cable modem from the cable service provider, or purchase one of your own.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Please note that a TV Cable Box is not he same as a Modem that you get your internet from!