Connect with us

Newbie leds for blinker lights

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by Peter Rake, Sep 14, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Peter Rake

Peter Rake

Sep 14, 2017
    I am new to this but not to the world as I have been here nigh on 80 years, as us oldies would say.

My car has a let down steering wheel which when down in its most comfortable position I can't see the green blinking arrows, and as I am deaf I can't hear the clicker. I could get a louder clicker but that would drive passengers mad.

SO, I went to my Motor electrical bloke and he put in two small red led lights, which do work in coordination with the blinkers; however I am now used to these lights and they do no remind me any more, which leaves me prone to a fine.

I don't need a couple of 500 watt flood lights, but I was thinking along the line of a set up of say some leds in green to the left and some to the right, working in sequence to the blinkers, BUT they might not work at the same speed, so I need one of you folk to come with something. The site for this set up is in behind the steering wheel towards the dash....(Trivia where dose the word Dash come from, no googling) There is not much room under the cover over the blinker set up and the wipers and lights switches, so I don’t mind a black box on top of the site as long as it is not obtrusive.

Possibly these leds would need to be switched on/off for the rare night travel I do as I would see the reflection of the standard blinkers.

I like gadgets and have a few of the usual, so you can be a bit creative.

I will give photos after I find someone that is willing to take on a design projest for me, either to make and sell to me or just the design, what ever is the best.

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    What's to say that any further modifications wouldn't also end up the same way?

I always thought indicators were auto-cancelling anyway? They are in all the cars I've ever owned.