Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newbie - attempting to repair Ford circuit board

Apophasis

Apr 13, 2018
7F2BB733-0E26-48E3-B9C0-D18DF2653FA4.jpeg 42E092C0-E6E9-4F79-9488-7F87482CFABF.jpeg

Hello,

I’m seeking any advice on repairing a Ford Anti Slosh Module for a 1995 Mustang. The circuit board seems to be intact, but one or more capacitors seem dead. Im brand new to the hobby. I have a Hakko fr-300 desoldering gun, a Hakko fx-951 soldering station, 60/40 w/rosin flux .6mm solder, and a flux pen (low solids no residue).

This will be my first soldering attempt so I plan on practicing a few times on a blank board before I give it a go. The information on the internet is overwhelming and difficult to sift through so I don’t know if there is anything I am missing. My questions are:

• Are there specific capacitors better suited for high heat vehicle applications (that sit inside a dashboard in the sun)?
• Can I upgrade the type of capacitor rather than just replace what Ford installed. (Better temperature range, better material, etc)
• is it better to just replace all the components now rather than later (it is difficult to get to the circuit board once placed)?
• do I have to use the same style of capacitor, or do I merely need it to have the same specs?
• is there any function test I can conduct on the circuit to see if it works prior to installing it back in the vehicle?
• how do I test the varister?

Further Info: I measured the capacitance of all my capacitors and recieve between 106 and 107 (from memory, I believe it was uF). However, two of the capacitors measured “OL”. The only distinguishing marks I can see list 104. Once I desolder them, I will be able to see the print slightly better than I can now.

Attachments

• 5905D984-CE22-4F8C-9629-7E5AD1762510.jpeg
    5905D984-CE22-4F8C-9629-7E5AD1762510.jpeg
    122 KB · Views: 1

Robert_fay

Jun 15, 2017