Connect with us

Newb Needs Some Guidance

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by PhilB, Oct 29, 2014.

1. PhilB

PhilB

Oct 29, 2014
    Hello,

I'm new to this and trying to learn about how best to approach what I think is a relatively simple project. Wondering if anyone here can help provide some pointers to get me started.

I have a 315Mhz transmitter, it sends a standard (non changing) 4 digit code + a rolling sequence number.

I need to build something that can receive the transmission from this device and display back to me the codes that are being transmitted.

I've been searching the web for some help and found various hardware devices that seem to be geared mostly towards residential garage door uses, to essentially setup repeaters and similar configurations. But nothing yet where code readout and display is involved.

Can anyone help point me in a direction to get started? Once I start I'll probably have more questions.

Thank you,
    Phil

2. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    Why do you want to see the codes that are being transmitted? As the datasheet explains, these codes change for each exchange of data from transmitter (encoder) to a paired receiver (decoder). The encoder in the transmitter is initially paired with the decoder in the receiver by the manufacturer or dealer. Certain measures are taken to prevent a second receiver from intercepting a code sequence sent from a first transmitter and re-transmitting that code to operate the first (paired) receiver. If you must re-pair a receiver with a transmitter, and there are only a few situations where this is necessary, the datasheet provides instructions on how to do that.

Gryd3 likes this.
  3. PhilB

PhilB

Oct 29, 2014
    No data sheet available. This is an automotive application, I can buy the code I need from the manufacturer - for A LOT of money - so I'm trying to find a way to obtain it from the transmitter.

Thanks.

4. hevans1944