Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Newb needs help with a 2 second delay for milsim

Blacker360

Apr 10, 2013
So I made an account here to ask for help. Im a complete noob when it comes to electronics so I could use some help...well maybe alot. First off ill explain my situation. Me and 2 friends are milsim players. For those of you who don't know what that is, we do airsoft and paintball military simulations. Its kind of our hobby. But anyways, I came up with the idea of making our own smoke grenades. but I want to make them cool, not the light a fuse and run kind. Ive got some mini push buttons, coin size 3v batteries, and electronic fuses (need 6v so 2 batteries to ignite). It all works but I don't like having the things ignite in our hands. So to improve the design we need a 2 second delay. So, my questions are:

How can I easily build a 2 second delay for my 6v electronic igniter (small enough to fit in cardboard tube with other crap?
Actually, do I even have to build it or can I buy them complete some place?
If not, where can I buy the parts (at a cheap, affordable price that is)?

Any help would be much appreciated lol

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
OK, take a look at this circuit diagram (schematic) and voltage and current graphs.

attachment.php

This is probably the simplest solution. Q1 is an N-channel MOSFET. It works like an electronically controlled switch. When the voltage between its gate terminal (the left hand connection) and the source terminal (the bottom connection) reaches a certain voltage, called the gate threshold voltage, it begins to conduct current between its drain terminal (top) and its source (bottom). This completes the circuit between the battery (shown at the left, as "V1") and the igniter.