Connect with us

new to circuits ?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by carte, Dec 4, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. carte

carte

Dec 4, 2012
    hello , im new to the building modding circuits i wanted to start simple with
    guitar pedals.

my question is how do you know if a simple circuit is digital or analog
    in a pedal if not otherwise specified ?

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    You need to look at the schematic, or look at the parts used and make an assessment based on what these parts are typically used for.

3. carte

carte

Dec 4, 2012
    hello thx , i don't have a way to get good photos
    of the circuit

there is only 2 chips that read

458de
    jrc
    x1126

if this isn't enough info its no prob. i appreciate the reply's and very grateful

4. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Are you sure it's "458"? If it's 4558, that is a standard component called a "dual op-amp". It's totally analogue.

Simple pedals like fuzz/distortion, wah-wah, filtering and so on are normally analogue, unless they're very high-tech (and expensive), in which case the processing could be done using a DSP (digital signal processor). Pedals that are more likely to be digital (at least partly) are flanger/phaser, echo/delay, and advanced audio processing. Digital pedals will contain ICs much bigger than those little 8-pin devices.

If you haven't already, search the web for guitar effects pedals. There are hundreds of circuits out there.

5. carte

carte

Dec 4, 2012
    cool thx , i might had left a # out but don't think so
    i thought it might be analog but was not sure.

it has surface resistors "machine mfg" like cpu boards
    instead of the ones i usually see in pedals. would be
    difficult to mod these pedals

6. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011