Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New Here---Novice

ocamargo17

Feb 9, 2014
I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself, my name is Orlando. I am electronics enthusiast. I am a novice at best but I would like to learn as much as possible. I have had an electrical class when I attended a post secondary technical school for automotive, so I know the very basics and what I learned in school didn't really have too much to do with more of the commercial electronics. So I figured I would join a electronics forum just in case I ever need help from people who are much more knowledgeable in this field than I.

Anyway as my first little project I stumbled upon a stud finder that no longer works and I thought this would be a good beginner project to see if I could get it work again. Right now there is no power getting to it and the battery is brand new. The circuit board isn't cracked or anything. Any suggestions as to what should be my first step in diagnosing the problem?

IMG_20140209_125127_773_zps6ff4d188.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi Orlando, and welcome to Electronics Point :)

With an unfamiliar unit like this, I would start with the multi-pin components. Your first photo shows a 16-pin SOIC (small outline IC) on the track side, and the second photo shows a 24-pin DIP (dual in-line package) on the other side. There are also several three-pin components on the track side; these are likely to be junction transistors or MOSFETs, and one of them is probably a regulator.

Generally, large ICs have limited supply voltage ranges, and operate from less than 9V, which is why I suspect there's a three-terminal regulator there somewhere.

Follow the tracks from where the battery snap connector connects to the board. Usually the negative side connects to the circuit's main ground rail, also called the 0V rail ("zero volt rail"), which is the place where voltages are measured relative to.