Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New guy just getting started need advice on tools

Billy Simmons

Nov 22, 2015
Hi guys,

I need to buy my first scope to do mostly tube guitar amp repair and solid state amp repair. I don't have a lot of budget to spend, perhaps $300. I have been working on my own stuff for many years without a scope and now I am working on other peoples stuff.

Old tube amp stuff does not require much of a scope to be useful and some have recommended a used Iwatsu SS-5702 or a Leader. All these scopes sell from 50 bucks to 300 used on ebay.

What would you buy and where would you buy it. Many on ebay but how do I go about getting a good one. Also I have no idea of the issue of probes for such a scope.

I want to use the scope to look at clipping, jitter and things like that to help identify issues.

Thanks,

Billy

PS: I am trying to set up a proper work bench on a fairly low budget ($1500 to $2000) so there are some other things I need to buy also. I am a disabled vet and don't have a lot of income. The whole idea is to have some way to make a few bucks working from home. Other questions to follow I am sure...lol

Last edited:

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Many decry them but if just doing simple and nothing really high speed, and you own a laptop then these can be very useful, also the storage feature is handy.
http://www.syscompdesign.com/
M.

Billy Simmons

Nov 22, 2015
Thanks Minder for the link.

I am also looking at Tektronix scopes as there are a ton of them for sale well within the 300 dollar or so budget. I want a analog scope at the moment and may buy a digital one some time in the future.

Anyone know of a good electronics supply company in the United States where I can get this kind of used stuff so I do not have to buy off ebay?

Thanks,

Billy

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Billy,
You could ask some universities or colleges. They might even donate one to you!
"Disabled vet" can have it's advantages...