Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New but asking for help with MC / PWM ?

Lycan

Mar 28, 2016
Hello All,

Ok I am old but stubborn, so am going to follow this issue through regardless, my question / problem is as follows :

What is the most simplistic way to design a circuit board that will supply current to a small pager motor at varied intervals & duration.

IE : Run pager for 1 sec on 1 sec off, 3 sec interval then repeat, then on for 5 sec off for 2 sec and then continue to repeat that entire cycle pattern.

The cycling pattern will never be altered so can you program a small mc then place that chip on a board with power / motor and will run as is ? This is worded so basic its embarrassing but I self taught myself everything about 3D printing and design in autocad & solidworks so I am persistant enough to learn.

Finished deign needs to be as small and simplistic as possible.

Any and all help greatly appreciated if anyone has the time to spend enlightening me.

Steve

Lycan

Mar 28, 2016
Ps : Worst case scenario even if it runs on for 5 - 7 sec off for 3 and just repeats that sequence if that enables a simpler design.

Steve

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hi Steve, welcome to EP.
Yep micro-controller would be the simplest. What current do you need to supply to this motor? What voltage does the motor require?
Adam

Lycan

Mar 28, 2016
Hi Adam and Thanks for taking the time out to reply,

Power supply is intended to be 3v at this point, supply a pager motor with the following specs :
  • Designed for 3V nominal operation, giving 920RPM drawing 100mA. At stall, you get over 0.49in*oz or 35.28gm*cm of torque
  • or as per link https://solarbotics.com/product/gm15/
  • Ideally based on my initial post, I am hoping that the completed unit will run for minimum 2 Hrs on that power supply before requiring battery change.