Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need Transistor to relay help ASAP

Slobin3d

Jun 13, 2012
i'm working on a defunct Mobility scooter speed controller, the relay that powers the forward is no longer functioning. I have determined that the relay is functional.

I am trying to use a transistor to activate the heavier load relay. I found the signal from the throttle control. It rests at 5vdc and as forward throttle is increased the Vdc increase to a max of 10Vdc. For the reverse the opposite happens and the Vdc decreases to 0Vdc. The solenoid that activates the reverse engages around 4vdc.

I want the Transistor to activate at 6Vdc and above and have a through put on the High power side of 24-40Vdc. I found a NPN 2N4401 transistor from Radioshack, from what I read it should be appropriate to my task.

I'm having trouble making it work though. Did I miss my understanding of how this transistor works or how it activates? It's my first time dealing with transistors and have been reading for several days and my brains mush.

Thanks

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
How does your circuit look like? How did you connect the transistor into the existing circuit, and why do you need an additional transistor if the relay is functional?

Harald

Slobin3d

Jun 13, 2012
from what I understand the circuit is set up so that E=24vdc B=6vdc and C= ground

The relay Transfer the power from the battery direct to the motor at 70 amps. I need the transistor to activate the relay at 6Vdc+ once throttle is applied. there is an array of relays that control the power on/off and forward and reverse. I can manually activate the relay and the trottle functions as designed, I just cant get the Circuit board to provide the activation to the relay. Hence building an external circuit to do it.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
from what I understand the circuit is set up so that E=24vdc B=6vdc and C= ground
That is not correct.