Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need someone to check my circuit

C-41

Jun 25, 2016
Hi,

I'm working on a small project : building a controled water bath to process my own photographic films.

I will use a PID to control the T°C (with auto-tune), a CAMCO 1500W 120V water heater, an aquarium pump (even T°C) and a PT-100 probe.

Can someone take a look at my circuit to be shure that everything will be OK? Polarity, etc.

Should I use a heat seak for the SSR relay?
Should I use a specific relay of the ones that comes with PID controllers (eBay) should be OK?
What wire gage should I use for 120V? And DC coming out of the PID?

Sorry for all those questions, but I am no pro when it comes to electrical circuit.

Thanks for your time.

R.

Attachments

• water-bath.png
    water-bath.png
    339.6 KB · Views: 111

Sunnysky

Jul 15, 2016
Your PID is an ON OFF control? or triac phase control?

+- AC symbols are incorrect. It should be switching LINE and not NEUTRAL.

Normally you just need a comparator , thermistor and pot with a Vref to drive a relay, since heating time is slow. If you use PID control then D gain must anticipate rate of change or rise in temp to shutoff before set point, for good stability.,But this may be overkill.

e.g. waterbeds just had a thermistor and triac control with a pot and cap

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
It is always best to use a heat sink of some kind, a square aluminum plate is good.
14g should be suitable and easily obtainable.
Is any of it DC? you usually require low voltage dc to switch a SSR.
M.

Sunnysky

Jul 15, 2016
I would use home thermostat with thermistor removed on shielded twisted pair and insert in water and use contact closure to drive a relay for 800W water bed heater.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010