Maker Pro
Maker Pro

need some help

Ozaibi

Jul 3, 2011
6a01348568988f970c0133f5581d93970b-popup

Heey first time to write here, first time to post in any electric forum, i love electronics and i am still a noob, hopefully i will stay in this site only and really learn from here

anywaz my questions is how does the picture i sent u work?
basiclly it increase the output of the voltage to 2.1... a usb port on a pc usally is 5 volts, ...
i am confused while writing this ... i just dont get the picture i sent ... :S
6a01348568988f970c0133f5581d93970b

MagicMatt

Jun 15, 2011
It's bad advertising, something has clearly been mis-translated. It can also damage your USB ports, so I wouldn't use it.

There are a variety of these things around, some of which seem to short out the USB port - some computers are happy with that, some end up with broken USB ports. Just use the proper charger.

A USB port is designed to deliver 5V at 500mA, no more. Trying to force it to drive more is a risk I wouldn't want to take given the cost of the computer vs. the cost of a charger.

Note that the NEWER MacBook etc. have USB ports that are able to deliver much higher current, because Apple designed their USB ports to work above the USB specification so they would charge iPads etc.

MagicMatt

Jun 15, 2011
Found the charging specification - iPad2 requires 2.1Amps at 5V to charge, so it's likely this is claiming to increase your output CURRENT (not voltage) to 2.1Amps (not volts).

Anything that tries to force a circuit designed ot run at 500mA (0.5A) max to output 2.1A is probably to be avoided... if indeed it works at all... which is doubtful. It's more likely to disconnect the data lines so the iPad thinks it's connected to a charger and charges anyway, but it wouldn't magic an extra 1.6A out of thin air.

Ozaibi

Jul 3, 2011
i agree

i thought so ...
so lets me return to my major issue...