Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need recommendation for rheostat or potentiometer

NyeSpy

Feb 7, 2017
Weird question, but bear with me...

I am an 8th grade science teacher and my students are building a hovercraft. They want to use two 7.2v DC NiCd RC racing batteries as the source of power. One battery will be connected to a computer fan that generates a lot of static pressure (approx 1200 pascals). This will be the "lift" fan. The other battery will be connected to a computer fan that moves A LOT of air (205 cfm). This is the "push" fan.

Here is where it gets tricky. The students want to be able to control the speed of the "push" fan. The craft should be adjustable, from moving at a slow crawl to screaming down the track. INTEGRATED CIRCUITS are NOT allowed, so PWMs are excluded. They want to use a rotary resistor to adjust the fan speed. Is there a particular rheostat or potentiometer that I should be targeting? I am not very electronics oriented and any parts we try I will have to purchase. Trying to avoid spending a small fortune on a bunch of stuff that either won't work (best case) or that will burst into flames (obvious worst case).

Battery - https://www.amazon.com/Racers-Edge-7-2V-1500mAh-Battery/dp/B000JCNAR4
Push Fan - http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/mechatronics-fan-group/MD1238X12B-FSR/1570-1122-ND/5209819

Thanks for all of your help!!!

NyeSpy

Feb 7, 2017
The rule states "Brushless motors and integrated circuits are not permitted" and the craft is subject to impound and inspection. Competitors at the event forums are saying PWMs would violate the rule against ICs. Would a discrete transistor PWM be subject to scrutiny and possible disqualification?

Pardon my ignorance. Electronics is not my gig. :)

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Competitors at the event forums are saying PWMs would violate the rule against ICs.

I said use discrete transistor circuit ... NOT IC's :)
do some googling on transistor PWN circuits

NyeSpy

Feb 7, 2017