Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need Help With Tip-127 Transistor

RatShack

Aug 11, 2009
hello everyone this is my first time being here at EP and am glad i found this place. I am having some problems getting my TIP-127 PNP to work properly. here is some background info on what i am trying to do.

Pic16f88 programmed with 3 outputs each of these 3 outputs go to the Base pin on the TIP-127. One of these outputs Will be a PWM output.
My logic for switching the TIP127 on is correct in the software (Logic 0 turns Tip on)
if i measure the output pin of the PIC outputs are acting proper to what i have programmed.

I plan on driving 3 solenoids at 22ohms@12v here is my calculations
using ohms law i calculate .545 amps draw at solenoid.
Minimum base current=545ma/1000hfe=.545ma+a lil to ensure full saturation so .700 sounds good?
Rbase=12/(.545/1000*.7)
Rbase=32K ohms
Power dissappated= .3(.545)=163mw

my problem is when i have a high condition on the output pin,my TIP is at 12v on the collector(no load-just measured with a volt meter) When the output pin is brought low the TIP is still at 12v.

This is the first time i have worked with a TIP transistor and am clearly doing somthing wrong. can anyone help me understand whats going on here. ill check back often if anyone has further questions.

Thanks
Jason

Last edited:

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
If you hooked the solenoid in it would work as intended.
A darlington has a very high hFE at low currents. The voltmeter draws next to nothing (1.2uA). Divide this by a hFE of 10000 and you find that only 0.12nA base current is needed to drive the transistor. The outputs of the PIC surely has much higher leakage currents.
The solution? Use a pull-up resistor B-E to absorb a portion of the (calculated) base current. (10%=30K.)
Even then the transistor might have enough leakage current to spoil such unloaded measurements.

neon

Oct 21, 2006
If you hooked the solenoid in it would work as intended.