Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with strobe circuit

Alex

Mar 9, 2012
I'm new to electronics and am trying to build a strobe for my RC airplane and it's not working. I want a double flash with a variable rate between flashes. Found a basic 555 timer circuit and tried to modify it. The first 555 is set up to be about 1 Second on and 1 Second off. During the 1.5 Second ON, it feeds power to the second 555 which is set up to rapidly flash the LED. So basically the second 555 is being turned on and off at 1 second intervals and while ON, it blinks the LED. Also incuded a 1K pot to vary the rate between double flashes. Could really use some help as to what I'm doing wrong. Thanks.

Attachments

• Double flash strobe.jpg
    Double flash strobe.jpg
    72.1 KB · Views: 3,734

Rleo6965

Jan 22, 2012
Timer2 Pin8 should not be connected to pin3 of Timer1. Timer2 pin8 must be connected to +5V. Connect 0.1 mfd to pin or CV of 2 timer to ground.

555flasher.jpg

Alex

Mar 9, 2012
Sorry, not following you. Timer2 pin8 is connected to +5V supply as per diagram and has no connection to pin3.

Rleo6965

Jan 22, 2012
Sorry, not following you. Timer2 pin8 is connected to +5V supply as per diagram and has no connection to pin3.

This was your diagram that you posted. I mark with red line for correct connection.
Wrongconnectionne555.jpg

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
edit (again) these comments refer to the corrected diagram, not the original. Rleo6965 has retained much of your original layout

When you draw a circuit nbsiqeqimu it often confuses people.

Convention is to have (in your case) +5V at the top and ground at the bottom.

You don't actually show ground explicitly (oh, yes you do -- well hidden!), but I'm pretty sure it's the like at the top.

Similarly, your +5V comes in at the side and winds its way around the bottom.

Apart from that, the circuit seems correct.