Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need Help with simple 9V circuit design.

RobH2

Aug 6, 2020
I'm not an electronics expert but have built 100s of devices by following schematics. I don't know electronic theory beyond the very basics.

I have the need to change an existing system. I have a motor driven by a 9V battery. It has a switch and a pot so I can change the speed. I want to remove the existing switch and pot and add a "Touch" switch component I found. I just need to be able to turn it "on" or "off" right now. The "Touch" switch is rated at 2.5-5.5V.

Are there a couple of simple components I can add so I can use this switch without burning it up? I can't find a higher voltage version.

Attachments

• Stevi_Schematic_ORIG_01.jpg
    Stevi_Schematic_ORIG_01.jpg
    117.9 KB · Views: 44

Nanren888

Nov 8, 2015
grr. can't cut and paste the link form the image.

http://www.icstation.com/10pcs-ttp2...lockingno-locking-module-arduino-p-12675.html

No. Proably not as you have drawn it.
This switch needs power to it always, so not used in series as you have drawn. It controls it's output to provide a voltage at TTL levels, so likely has no great ability to provide the current you need to run your motor.
Also, as you mention it's not rated for 9 volts.
You could arrange a circuit to use iit, by rediucing the voltage down to 5v to use the switch, then adding something to use the switch output to swicth the 9v to the motor.
Might be a lot easier to look for one that works on 9 volts and has a relay or larger current output.

Last edited:

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

On the page that @Nanren888 gave, in the specifications is given that the output is TTL logic.

Touchswitch.png

You will need more parts to drive the motor.
Also the PCB can not run on 9 Volts.

Bertus

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Unless the motor is very low power and you aren't concerned that the rpm will drop as load increases, using a potentiometer in series with the motor is a poor way to control the speed.

PETERDECO