Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with my project ... Heating

MrArduino

May 25, 2016
Hi,

Please excuse me for lack of correct terminology etc, I am a complete noob at all this.

I have recently invested in an Arduino to try to help me complete a college project, I basically need it to monitor the temperature of a surface and activate a heat element when it drops below 2 degrees celsius.

So I have got the basic concept working. At present, the system checks the temperature ....if above 2 degrees celsius it goes to sleep for a set period of time before rechecking or if below 2 degrees celsius it activates an LED (I've used that because I haven't worked out the heating bit yet).

So this is where I need the help:

1. What can I use to heat a glass surface about 1 metre x 2 metre in size?
2. How would I power it? It needs to be from a battery - as the item needs to be portable...is it possible to generate a decent amount of heat to actually heat the surface?

I imagine that the main circuit will run off a 9V battery, which with a bit of tweaking should last a good length of time.
I would then be in effect, activating a separate circuit powered by a more powerful rechargeable battery when heat is required.

Would really welcome and thoughts / suggestions

Thanks

A

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
You have not provided enough information to even begin a design. Does the glass have to remain transparent when it is heated? How is it cooled to 2 C or below? How is such a large sheet of glass supported, and what is its orientation (vertical, horizontal, tilted) with respect to gravity? How thick is the glass? What is its composition? What is the specific heat of the glass? What is the mass of the glass? Will you monitor the average temperature of the whole surface, or only the temperature at a small spot on the surface? How will you do that?