Connect with us

Need help with microswitch wiring

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by matteuk, Oct 14, 2012.

1. matteuk

matteuk

Oct 14, 2012
    Hello I'm going a art project with L.E.D s i have some knowledge of circuitry i have an leds panel a 9v battery and a micro switch and basically I'm trying to wire the circuit so that when the micro switch is pressed the light is cut off here is the switch in question

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/150915304468?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

iv tired wiring it in many different ways but i can only get the leds to come on when the switch is pressed which is not what i want. or the light just stays on and does nothing when the switch is pressed please help me understand this problem thanks guys.

2. CDRIVE

CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

May 8, 2012
    That's a Normally Closed Momentary Switch. I don't see how that can be unless your wiring the switch contacts across the LED. The switch should be wired in series with the LED and limiting resistor.

Chris

3. krishna42099

krishna42099

Oct 1, 2012
    Just make sure, whether you got the right switch or not, I mean the switch you got is really a momentary switch (always closed and opens the circuit when you pressed it)...

Once if you're happy, follow this circuit....

Should work then...Good luck :)

Attached Files:

• EX1.jpg
      EX1.jpg
      File size:
      39.9 KB
      Views:
  4. matteuk

matteuk

Oct 14, 2012
    by open do you mean the light should turn off?

thanks for the replies does anyone know where i could find the right switch? possibly the same size.

thanks

5. CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
    Your physical pinout should look like this. It's typical for most miniature PCB switches.

Chris

Attached Files:

6. matteuk

matteuk

Oct 14, 2012
    ahh so you wire the positive to both pins 1 and 2 and the neutral to 3 and 4? i previously only use one pin each for positive and negative.