Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help with H-bridge circuit running printer motor

michan

Feb 21, 2015
Hi there,

I am new to the electronics world and have just put together an H-bridge circuit complete with two buttons to control a motor i have recently removed from an old printer, however when the circuit is hooked up to the motor, it does not run at all. Im running the circuit from a 5v psu that is able to supply up to 40 amps and when the motor is run directly from this it works fine and only draws 0.25 amps, yet with the circuit connected it does not run at all. I am just wondering what in the circuit would be causing this as the H-bridge circuit runs fine by itself as well?

I have been copying the circuit exactly (except for the power source) from these instructions

http://www.instructables.com/id/H-Bridge-on-a-Breadboard/?ALLSTEPS

FVMW79VFYYNDQJ9

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
Since it seems to work OK without the load, the obvious problem would be that the 22KΩ base resistors are too large. Try 5600Ω or 4300Ω resistors instead.

michan

Feb 21, 2015
thank you! would those smaller resistors allow too much current through the base of the transistors though? Also how did you figure those resistances out? or are they just educated guesses haha, sorry for the hundreds of questions i just want to learn how to do it myself

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi there and welcome to Electronics Point :)

As is common with electronics-related articles on instructables.com, the author of the instructable is a beginner himself and doesn't fully understand the circuit. There are many minor and some major errors in the article. If you copied the breadboard layout, it won't work.

The first reference for an electronic design is the circuit diagram, aka schematic. There is no schematic provided with the article so I have drawn up the circuit that I believe he intended to show.

27804-1.001.GIF