Connect with us

Need help with circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Jonny, Jun 15, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Jonny

Jonny

May 31, 2010
    Found this one online, will copy the text, then make my notes:

Simplest touch sensor circuit

The illustration on the left shows a simple touch sensor circuit. It will light up the LED when a person gets in contact with the wire or metal connection to the transistor base. This touch circuit is cheap and easy to construct. All you need is a npn transistor, a resistor, a LED, a metal contact surface and of course the wire connection. It is so simple.

NOTE: Interface the circuit will requires a bit further improvement to the design. Do not connect the ground reference to the earth. The LED will either not light up or will be very dim.

[​IMG]

I am using a 9 volt battery. (I am also a newbie). Using a 2222a transistor, wich wire goes to what? Do I run the transistor on the positive or the negative? I am assuming that the "base" connector goes to the plate I want to use as a switch, but I cannot get this goofy thing to work. Any advice?

2. jackorocko

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
    Well the most obvious question I have is... Did you hook up the LED in the correct orientation?

Depending on the type of LED you have, with a 9 volt battery, the series resistor might need to be of a lesser value to drive the LED to it's brightest state.

You hook the battery up the exact way it is in the schematic, the collector to the positive side of the battery and the emitter to the negative side of the battery.

3. Laplace

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010