Connect with us

Need help with arduino and L293D chip

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Xeuscryste, Jul 27, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
  2. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    You are going to need a better picture, I can't make heads or tails of how you have it wired...

    You have loaded the appropriate sketch to the Ardunio correct?
     
  3. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    There's no point of another picture because you wouldn't understand the layout, at each side are those power rails which I looked underneath and it's sectioned off into three for each side so did you read the page I provided?

    Here's a photo of my breadboard underneath
    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/35a5b43a.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/2962fcaa.jpg

    And yes I have the correct code.
     
  4. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    Actually YES, I most certainly would... That is if I could actually make things out like the wires and stab lock board so I could see what is going on... I'm far from a newbie with those stab locks, been reluctantly using them for decades...

    I'm well aware of how the different stab lock boards are laid out, they are no mystery to me, so no need for pictures of the stab lock itself, I need to see your circuit and how you have it hooked up...
     
  5. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Ok this is how I wired it, I wired it exactly the same as the image below except my breadboard doesnt have 2 power rails on each end, only one as you will see
    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/6254745c.jpg

    Here are my pictures of my board and the way I wired them, see where those black marker pen lines are, thats where the rails separate underneath, so if you look at the first picture there is a black wire going into the bottom row and a red going into the top, since I only have one row on each end I made the left of the pen marks substitute for the bottom and the right of the pen marks as the top (where the red goes)

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/4e723f8f.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/6afc248e.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/9bd0fff3.jpg
     
  6. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    I'm still having an incredible hard time seeing your connections, can you take more close up pictures of the connections at the Arduion, and the connections to the chip, lots of different angles as I honestly can't make heads or tails of where many of the wires go, they just mash into a big black blob... Get some better light when you take the pictures, it will make a world of difference...
     
  7. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Well look how about this, you see that diagram picture I got my idea from? And you see the underside of my breadboard, cant you figure out how I can set my chip up on MY board? Because I certainly cannot.
     
  8. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    Yes, I know exactly how you need to wire it up, your board is hardly that different, just a minor differences in the + and - rails not being continuous, hardly the concern you are making it out to be as it's only relevant to a few connections...

    I would just like to verify your hook up, but as it stands I can't clearly make out many things and I don't want to guess as that won't solve the problem if the guess is wrong... Heck I can't even make out the polarity of the 9V in your picture to confirm that is even hooked up properly...
     
  9. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/122de7c9.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/105ab7bd.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/71278fc9.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/4cefde00.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/d2f6289d.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/8e582583.jpg

    http://i830.photobucket.com/albums/zz226/karmadog/9958bd20.jpg

    I hope these can help
     
  10. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    The 9v hookup is based on what I see in the diagram
     
  11. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    OK it appears you have it all hooked up correctly...

    1. Have you tested the motor with your battery, direct connect?
    2. When you flip polarity of the battery does the motor go the opposite direction?
    3. Do you have a multimeter? If so hook it up to pins 3 and 4, with 4 being positive or red wire... When you run the code does it show 5 volts?
    4. Take a different unused jumper, one by one swap that unused one out with an existing jumper and test... I stopped using those jumpers long ago as I find the incredibly thin wire breaks loose from the pin very easily thus rendering it broken even though it looks fine...
    5. Give the IC a little jiggle back and forth, test again...
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  12. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Yes I have tested it directly and when I flip polarity it does go in the opposite direction.
    I have a multimeter but that's where I got the 9v out of.
    Do I need the battery hooked up to the board to run the multimeter test? And do you mean pins 3 and 4 on the arduino or on the chip?
     
  13. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    No you don't need the 9V hooked up to the circuit for the test, and yes I mean Arduino pins 3 & 4...

    BTW get another battery, stealing them from tools that you need to actually test the circuit isn't going to get you far in diagnosing the issue...
     
  14. donkey

    donkey

    1,289
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
  15. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Here's the results: when I read the voltages of pins 3 & 4 it reads 4.96 but when the code is 100% sent through it drops to .25 or something then straight back up to 4.96
     
  16. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Coca cola, we're not finished yet.
     
  17. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    Believe it or not even though I'm able to be around the forums a lot due to me being self employed and working from home, I do have a life/job/family that does not afford me the ability to reply 24/7 ;)

    Did you do the other things I suggested? AKA switch out the jumpers and wiggle the chip?

    Next test, disconnect the motor from the board, load up the Arduino code, get it running and do these test while the board is all wired up and running, less the motor... Set your volt meter to at least the 10 Volt setting, and touch the legs of the chip as indicated in the picture...

    Example the black A to the black lead, and the red A to the red lead... Show the results for A - E in your post...

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • test.jpg
      test.jpg
      File size:
      80.4 KB
      Views:
      1,496
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2012
  18. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Do I have to have the 9v on the board? Because I only have one and I need it for the multimeter.
     
  19. CocaCola

    CocaCola

    3,635
    5
    Apr 7, 2012
    Yes, for the test you should have the 9V connected, thus the reason I suggested you get another one yesterday if you wanted to diagnose the problem...

    Have you done the other steps I suggested twice now?

    There is really no reason to take this any further if you are not going to do your part, it's a dead end unless you start to work with me...
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2012
  20. Xeuscryste

    Xeuscryste

    52
    0
    Jun 20, 2012
    Well looks like I'll need another battery now doesn't it. Kinda hard to get one at this hour. And I am doing my part and am willing to work with you.
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-