Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help selecting an Emergency Stop

dssteven

May 9, 2012
Hey everyone,

First post here, hopefully somebody can help me out! I'm an intern at a company that builds large scale concrete screeding equipment and on all of their machines there is an emergency stop button.

We found out shortly after I arrived here that the current emergency stop is freezing when washed and left in the cold. When this happens it won't allow anybody to use the machine if it was pushed down before washed off... We found another Emergency stop that does not freeze and I'm supposed to determine if it will work for the circuit.

All I really need to know is what electronic specifications matter in deciding what emergency stop to use. I have datasheets and more information than I can handle but I am unsure what is relevant and what is pish posh. The circuitry is correct and will kill the circuit where the e-stop is placed but I just want to be sure the e-stop will be able to handle the voltages (12VDC for our small line, 24VDC [I believe] for large line machines)

Please let me know if you have anything to say about this!

Thanks!

gto_ron

Oct 5, 2011
kill switch

Does the full operating current of the machine go through the kill switch? If so check current capacity and voltage rating. If you're stopping a fairly high inductance system you may get some arcing at the contacts.

Ron

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
You haven't provided nearly enough information for an intelligent reply. Is the main ON/OFF control a magnetic contactor? Is the Kill switch a NC or NO model? What's the expected max current through the switch, etc.?

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
We found out shortly after I arrived here that the current emergency stop is freezing when washed and left in the cold.

May I suggest the obvious? Stop soaking the electronics with water? Even if it's something as simple as tying a plastic bag around the area when washing...

dssteven

May 9, 2012