Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help identifying a diode

DKMurphy

Jul 6, 2012
I have a diode that I need to replace on a Powermax RacMax surge protector. I'm having a hard time finding a replacement diode. It is black with a brownish/gold band on the anode. It has metalic blue markings

Tf 104 (degrees) c
D103PCRT

Below is a picture with a nickle for scale. Any help you can give me would be appreciated. I'm an intern and this would make me look really good if I get this fixed at the component level. THANKS!!
541050_2252522530769_1572416691_n.jpg

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
The photo is really out of focus, is there any color banding on it besides the gold one?

DKMurphy

Jul 6, 2012
The photo is really out of focus, is there any color banding on it besides the gold one?

No color Banding besides the gold. Only camera i have right now is crapy cell phone. Will Post inside pic later.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
It looks like a thermal fuse to me.

My guess is 104C, but that seems quite low... (but surprisingly, it's not)

look here.

edit: Check the specs here. The one suggested above can hold at 106C, perhaps (almost certainly) you want the one that breaks at 104C (can hold at 80C)

Note that second one I suggest has a yellow end. That may correspond to the yellow band. Maybe someone can tell us if there's a colour code for these things.

Last edited:

CraziestOzzy

Jul 4, 2012
as said...thermal fuse
...and if I know Chinese manufacturing, it's under-rated for it's task and designed to fail with the added bonus that it's manufactured on the cheap with no thought on quality giving it and the unit it services (Powermax RacMax surge protector) a short life-span
You can replace it with one from a reputed manufacturer with a local distributor.