Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help getting guitar volume pedal to work with tattoo power supply

Dave Lowe

Oct 1, 2016
Hello!! I have very limited electrical knowledge and hope I can get some pointers in the right direction. I am a tattoo artist and would like to be able to control the voltage/speed of my machines using a foot pedal. A volume pedal for a guitar (see attached image) would be perfect because it holds it's position back and forth so what I'm aiming for is if the pedal is all the way back, the machine is off, and as you press the pedal down, the machine starts to speed up/voltage increases. I'm unsure how to get this to work. The maximum voltage i use my machines at is 8 volts. Any help would be appreciated. This is the power supply I use http://eagleviewtattoo.com/products/the-bandit-power-unit.

Attachments

• 750-HEX_detail03.jpg
    750-HEX_detail03.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 210

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Not possible to even guess what would be inside the guitar effects pedal but it would be audio related.
If just a pot then perhaps it could be modified but not a "beginner with little electronics knowledge" project.

Supply you linked to already has a foot pedal input and a speed adjustment, so what is the problem with using that.
Seems to be a rather sophisticated supply by the cost and the "pure dc" claim.
Not something to "toy" with if you get my drift.

Dave Lowe

Oct 1, 2016
The foot pedal for the supply is purely just on/off. With tattooing b/c we use a wide variety of needle configurations and you have to adjust voltage several times during a tattoo when switching between needles and working around different parts of the body and doing so you have to free up a hand to adjust the voltage. This pedal idea I am thinking of would just make my job more convenient and efficient and am curious to ask someone in the know how/if it could be done.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009