Maker Pro
Maker Pro

NEED HELP FOR CURRENT MEASUREMENT...

BHARGAV SHANKHALPARA

Nov 6, 2013
Hello everyone...

i am new in current measuring concept, and i make one of control application type project...

actually i am controlling one ac induction motor using microcontroller (ATTINY88). and i want to add one extra function into it is over-current protection.(when current more than 6 amp, automatically gets turn off by microcontroller) for that i decide to use current transformer for current measurement. so i need to interface it with microcontroller.

i have current transformer with 1 (one) turn of primary winding and 350 turn of secondary winding. i know that to convert secondary current into voltage i need to connect burden resistor across it. i need to obtain voltage between 0-5v DC from that to apply microcontroller. also for that i need to signal conditioning for that before apply it to microcontroller.

problem is that...

i don't now that which value of burden resistor is best for my application and after obtaining well voltage signal condition circuit require which include (rectifier and amplifier).

after searching about signal conditioning circuit i found this document and circuit.

http://tinyurl.com/oqr52d3

in this circuit i understand about all resistor and op-amp but initial two zener diodes and at last RC time constant make question in my mind that why its here and if here than what should be its value.

please help me in this project...

thank you...

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A current transformer with 1:350 windingg ratio will produce an output current that is 1/350*input current. Assuming that your 6A are RMS, the peak-to peak-value of the input current is 2*sqrt(2)*6A=17A (rounded).Assuming further that you want to be able to measure at least twice the nominal motor current you have 2*17A=34A. I'd suggest designing for 50A peak-to-peak, that gives you some headroom in case of overcurrent.