Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need help building a proportional circuit for my RC Tank

Se7eN

Feb 20, 2012
Hello everybody, This is my first post.. So please be kind :oops:
I am a novice when It comes to building electronic circuits, but I do know the basics and know a few components used in circuits (Caps, resistors, etc..)

I need help in designing a circuit for my RC tank. I require a circuit that will allow me to run a 5 volt fan at 3.5 volts and have the ability to add voltage to the circuit to combine and increase the voltage to the fan via two variable voltage high speed DC motors. (both run at full 7.2volt) 7.2 volts would be what I would want the fan to run at when motors are running full speed then when the motors have stopped the fan returns back to 3.5 volts.

I hope I explained what I need as best as I can, any help would be appreciated :D

-x se7en x-

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Do you mean that you want to run a 5V fan from your 7.2V batteries, and vary the voltage the fan gets from around 3.5 to 5V?

A simple solution to this is an LM317 which makes about the simplest variable voltage regulator. The trickiest bit is calculating the value of a pair of resistors which will give you the voltages you require.

Se7eN

Feb 20, 2012
Do you mean that you want to run a 5V fan from your 7.2V batteries, and vary the voltage the fan gets from around 3.5 to 5V?

A simple solution to this is an LM317 which makes about the simplest variable voltage regulator. The trickiest bit is calculating the value of a pair of resistors which will give you the voltages you require.

Thanks for the reply Steve,