Connect with us

Need a little help with a timer please

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Dad2la, Jul 3, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Dad2la

Dad2la

Jul 3, 2010
    I need some help I'm new at this so here goes.
    I'm trying to make a timer that will allow a button to be pushed and run a motor for aprox 3sec then not allow the motor to be engaged for 15 or 20 min selectable by a switch. Please help. Thanks in advance

Edit: I forgot to mention it will be a 9v battery powering this little project.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Because of the issues of long duration timers. This would be most easily accomplished with a picaxe.

The only issue is that it needs to operate from 5V rather than 9V. A simple voltage regulator and a transistor to operate the motor would be required.

The issue I have is that the amount of power available from a 9V battery is quite limited. How long is this circuit supposed to operate for?

3. Dad2la

Dad2la

Jul 3, 2010
    The motor would only be used 3 - 5 seconds about 4 to 6 times a day. I had assumed a 9v batt. Would be a decent power source but I am open to ideas would 3 or four aa bats wired in series be better? I'm not opposed to the picaxe I'm just at a loss when it comes to the programing portion. I have a mechanical mind so trying to learn electronics is hurting my brain but I hope to get it soon enough.

4. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    The problem is the long duration (15 to 20 minutes) is not suited to a simple timer circuit. In discrete electronics it would be rather more complex than using a very simple microcontroller.