Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need a device for transmitting wireless signal to a smartphone

manof2

Sep 7, 2013
Hello everybody,

I'm new to any kind of forum and this is my first post.
What i'm looking for is a small device in the size of zigbee that transmits wireless signal to a smartphone.

I need this because my professor who is guiding me for a project asked me to find some thing like that

Please if anybody knows anything about a device like that let me know as soon as possible.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
thankyou for replying but how will this help me transmit signal to a smartphone?

cuz that WiFi module connects to the WiFi in the phone
you will still need to figure out the connection/interfacing of your signal to the WiFi module

you havent told us anything about this signal

Dave

manof2

Sep 7, 2013
you will still need to figure out the connection/interfacing of your signal to the WiFi module

you havent told us anything about this signal

Dave
let me put it this way.

I have that device, which i mentioned, in my possession and you have a phone.
when i trigger the device with a switch or anything similar to a switch, then your phone should get a tone.

is that possible?

p.erasmus

Jul 18, 2013
thankyou for replying but how will this help me transmit signal to a smartphone?

Maybe you should inform yourself about WIFI

exactly the WIFI is just the interface between your device and the phone

I need this because my professor who is guiding me for a project asked me to find some thing like that

I am surprised the your professor does not give you more help about this surely he should lnow

Solidus

Jun 19, 2011
Bluetooth might be a better protocol for this situation from what I've read, as it won't play with the phone's internet as much - if the phone is on WiFi services during transmission or reception from this device, it may cause quirks or errors in the data.